Wiki: Kemtewet Empire Political Structure

The Kemtewet Empire is ruled by an Empress. The outlying worlds are comprised of five kingdoms. Each king has a capital world and manages five lords, who each manage three planets.

Control of the lords’ planets and kingdoms passes to whichever Kemtewet can hold it. Turnover is frequent, and lords and kings need no retirement plans. The Empress will rarely intercede.

The Empress assigns each king custody of a queen, who has no overt power and who is not permitted to vie for a fiefdom. However, only queens may vie for the Imperial throne. The throne changes hands by assassination, but the new Empress takes the name of Neith, such that these transitions of power are largely transparent to the Kemtewet public.